Visit the Flavel House Museum
Experience the elegance of the late Victorian period by touring the home of Captain George Flavel. This 1886 Queen Anne home features original Eastlake influenced woodwork, period furnishings, and exotic hardwood fireplace mantels. Begin your tour at the Carriage House Visitor Center (located behind the house on the corner of 7th & Exchange Streets), which houses additional exhibits, the museum store, and orientation video.
About the Interior
The Flavel House is approximately 11,600 square feet and consists of two and a half stories, a single story rear kitchen, a four-story tower and a full basement. The interior woodwork around the doors, windows, and staircases are Eastlake-influenced in design. The Douglas Fir doors and windows were wood grained by a master craftsman to look like mahogany and burl rosewood. The wood likely came from a mill in Portland or San Francisco and was shipped to Astoria by steamer.
Six unique fireplace mantels grace the home and feature different imported tiles from around the world, an elaborate hand-carved mantel and a patterned metal firebox that was designed for burning coal. The 14-foot high ceilings on the first floor and the 12-foot high ceilings on the second floor are embellished with plaster medallions and crown molding. The house was also fitted with indoor plumbing and gaslights.